Maine High School Wrestling
2008 The Year of the Seniors

Last year I recognized the Junior Class with "Year of the Juniors".
That Class more than lived up to expectations.
I believe this is probably the best group of wrestlers that Maine has ever graduated in a given year.

Chris Smith (Deering): Four-Time State Champion * 4th at New Englands 2008

Jon Hussey (Marshwood): Four-Time State Champion

Jerod Rideout (Foxcroft): Four-Time State Champion

Jon Smith (Dirigo): Three-Time State Champion * Four-Time Finalist * 2nd at New Englands 2008

Jacob Berry (Camden Hills): Three-Time State Champion * 3rd at New Englands 2008

Carlin Dubay (Caribou): Three-Time State Champion * New England Champion 2008

Josh Eon (Massabesic): Three-Time State Champion * 2nd at New Englands 2007 & 2008

Sammy Webber (Mt Blue): Two-Time State Champion * Four-Time Finalist

Jon Pelletier (Bucksport): Two-Time State Champion * Four-Time Finalist

Jimmy Spencer (Belfast): Two-Time State Champion * Three-Time Finalist

Derek Daley (Dirigo): Two-Time State Champion * Three-Time Finalist

Josh Harvey (Dexter): Two-Time State Champion

Jake Longley (Noble): Two-Time State Champion

Murphy McGowan (Camden Hills): Two-Time State Champion

Mike Rolerson (Belfast): Two-Time State Champion

Derek Sicotte (Mtn Valley): State Champion * Three-Time Finalist

Cinjin Goeway (MCI): State Champion * Two-Time Finalist * Four-Time Medalist * 6th at New Englands 2008

Raistlin Delisle (Kennebunk): State Champion * Three-Time Finalist * 6th at New Englands 2008

Ray Gauthier (York): State Champion * Three-Time Finalist

Kristi Pearce: Three-Time Finalist * 1st ever Female Four-Time Medalist

Logan Russell (Morse): Two-Time Finalist * Four-Time Medalist


Ryan Vartanian (Wells) * Russell Gray (Sanford) * Matt Rix (Marshwood) * Cody Loiselle (Marshwood) * Denton Weimer (Deering)

and many, many, more

In 2008 Maine had it's best showing since returning to the New Englands in 1999.  We had 39 wrestlers compete as three did not show.  Maine had 60 wins and 56 losses for a winning percentage of 51.7%  ... our previous best was 42.9% in 2007.  We had 5 finalists, with 2 winning Championships.  Previous high was 2 finalists with 2 Champions in 2004.  Maine had 12 medalists, eclipsing the mark of 9 in 2007 and 2001.  Using my own personal formula, we had a "medal power rating" of 1.154 compared to the previous high of .585 set in 2006.  Belfast finished third as a Team with Massabesic also in the Top 10 at 8th place and our previous best finish since returning was Foxcroft at 5th in 2006.