Maine's Best High School Wrestling Team

In 1973 Maine combined all schools into one class for Wrestling.  Rumford won the Championship that year.  They had the first five Champions:  98   Dave Magoon, 105  Rick LaBrecque, 112  Steve DeFillip, 119  Gary Daigle, 126  Jim Richards.  In the next class, 132, Dave DeFiore placed 4th.  Linwood Arsenault won the 155-lb. class.  Doug Gilbert placed 3rd at 167 and Gary Oldham placed 3rd at 185.

Out of 12 classes, Rumford had 6 Champions, 2 thirds, and a fourth.
They had HALF the Champions in the WHOLE State!

No other team in the state had more than one Champion, and most teams had none.  Massabesic placed second as a team.  They had 1 Champion, 2 seconds, 2 thirds, and 3 fourths.  Traditional powerhouses: Sanford had 2 place, no champions; Dexter had 4 place, 1 champion; Fort Kent had 4 place, no champions; and Fryeburg had no one place.

The year before, 1972, Rumford became the first team in Maine to win the Championship without having an individual Champion.  The year after, 1974, Rumford had another great team.  50+ margin of victory.  Six in the finals.  Steve DeFillip 2nd at NE, Dave Magoon 4th at NE.

1972 Results     1973 Results     1974 Results

Free Web Counters
Office Max Coupons